Types of Courses

Types of Courses

There are a variety of courses and providers offering training, but how do you know it’s good quality?  BABTAC has been working hard to raise standards within the industry and make checks on the courses that are being delivered to our members.

There are four main types of courses; Qualification by a Regulated Awarding Body, CPD course, Product & Manufacturer training and Introductory courses.


There are a variety of qualifications offered by a number of awarding bodies such as CIBTAC, City & Guilds, VTCT and ITEC.  The qualifications offered by these awarding bodies sit as part of the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF).  The QCF is a regulated framework overseen by Ofqual and is intended to provide a standardised approach to qualification development and provision that is controlled and measurable.

The qualifications can either be Diplomas, Certificates or Awards and will have a number of credits allocated to each format.  Qualifications enable candidates to learn brand new skills or develop existing skills.  Pre requisites will sometimes be applicable depending on the course being offered.

Product & Manufacturer training

This type of training is offered by product houses or manufacturers of equipment to support the sale of their product.  At BABTAC we recognise that this training is often of an excellent standard and should be recognised in its own right. Find out more about CIBTAC Endorsed Training programme.

CPD courses

These types of courses will enable you to develop your skills beyond the introductory level and become more specialist in a particular area.  It allows you to keep up to date with new industry developments and new treatments that have come to market.

Introductory courses

These courses are usually a day course which allows you to get an understanding of the treatment and some of the basic skills that you need to know.  From here you can make a decision as to whether you’d like to learn more and move on to a CPD course or qualification.